jump to navigation

Practice anatomy skills online May 23, 2009

Posted by tomography in Medicine 2.0, Radiology.
trackback

e-anatomy: interactive atlas of human anatomyAs a medical student, I never had a decent seminar in Radiology. Week after week we would go into a tiny room, and our doctor would show us x-ray and CT images from a distance of up to 10 meters (why didn’t I get closer? – because the room was crowded!) So how on earth was anybody supposed to learn in that kind of invironment? I am not proud of it, but I did not get much out those afternoon sessions. Even so, during my clinical rotations, I was expected to recognize certain lesions on CT, but I was not too successful as you may imagine.

That is why I am so glad I fould e-anatomy! Absolutely free of charge I get to practice my anatomy skills through CT and MRI images on a virtual workstation. The image quality is excellent, the labels are very informative, and if I chose to upgrade for only 40 dollars a year I could get even better service. Other subscription options are 1 dollar for a day, or 9 dollars for a month.  Institutions can also purchase a larger package, but the price is not available on the website.

All you need is a browser that supports Adobe Flash (sorry iPhone users), and a quick, free registration. They have a wide range of available content:

HEAD AND NECK

Brain

Skull, Sinuses

Temporal bone

Ear

Face (Bones)

Face (Soft tissues)

Neck

LIMBS

Shoulder

Arm, Forearm, wrist and hand

Hip, Thigh, Leg

Lower limb (arteries and bones)

Knee

Ankle and foot

Give it a try, and let me know how you liked it!

– András

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

